Board of Directors

TAP’s governing body is its board of directors. It has a tripartite structure—which requires the involvement of representatives of those we serve, elected officials, and the private sector—to ensure it is made up of diverse, engaged, local community members.

The composition of the board of directors is as follows:

  • Low-Income Individuals and Families: A minimum of one-third of the tripartite board; must be democratically selected.
  • Elected Officials or Their Representatives: One-third must be elected officials, holding office at their time of selection, or their representatives.
  • Major Groups and Interests in the Community Served


Craig Balzer, Chair of the Board
Sandra Pratt, First Vice-Chair of the Board
Paul Nester, Second Vice-Chair of the Board
Kevin Lockhart, Treasurer of the Board
Brenda L. Hale, Secretary of the Board
Michael J. Hertz, Assistant Secretary of the Board
Charlotte Moore, Chair Emerita

Civic and Community Representatives

Deneen Evans, Mosaic Mental Wellness & Health
Jennifer Eversole, RAKE Digital Company
Brenda L. Hale, Local Colors
Michael J. Hertz, Roanoke Bar Association
Rita Joyce, Susan G. Komen Virginia Blue Ridge Affiliate
Kevin Lockhart, Carter Bank & Trust
Charlotte Moore, Dream Scapes Landscaping
Paul Nester, RCG Resources
Sandra Pratt, CCS Nonprofit Resource Center
Dr. David Trinkle, Valley Geropsychiatry and The Fork Restaurants

Public Officials

Robby Bailey, City of Lexington
Angie Campbell, County of Alleghany
Stephanie R. Clark, City of Covington
Patricia Franklin, County of Craig
Randy Foley, City of Salem
Paul Mahoney, County of Roanoke
Billy W. Martin, Sr., County of Botetourt
Vivian Sanchez-Jones, City of Roanoke
Bruce Sigler, County of Rockbridge

Low-Income Representatives

Craig Balzer, This Valley Works Board of Commissioners
Ron Boyd, Local Office on Aging
Maria Motley-Arnold, Head Start Policy Council
Lee Clark, Rescue Mission of Roanoke
Monique Clemont, Homeless Advisory Council
Matt Crookshank, Blue Ridge Continuum of Care
Leslie Floyd, Bluefield College
Dr. Mike Heller, Roanoke Branch NAACP
Baraka Kasongo, Volatia Language Network
Anita Price, Harrison Museum of African-American Culture
Clarice Walker, Loudon-Melrose Neighborhood Forum, Inc.